Michelin Alpin 5

The Michelin Alpin 5 is a Winter Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Alpin 5
86%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
94%
Road Feedback
86%
Progressiveness
77%
Wear
87%
Comfort
91%
Buy Again
89%

Michelin Alpin 5 Reviews

96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 15,000 Spirited miles

Renault Megane Sports Tourer

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-H
95%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz SLK 200

Got them for a skiing trip to the Austrian alps. On the way there I drove them at high speed on the German Autobahn (limited to 210 kph due to H index). None of the usual noise and other discomforts. Very good in the rain and on wet roads. Even on the dry they grip much better than the fatter Nokian summer tyres I currently run. On snow and ice they are superb.

Had Vredestein tyres (used ones that came with the car) before and never felt comfortable with them. Drove on snow covered mountain roads at night and had tons of fun without the usual panic attacks. On ice I was fine too. Only when I had to get out of the car (e.g. Hotel park site) I realize how dangerously slippery it was.

Kept them on for a while after where they had to cope mostly with wet roads and mild snowfall. There the high level of comfort and great road feedback came into play. When taking them off I didn't detect much wear at all (despite some "fun" driving in the dry).

All in all Michelin produced yet another great Alpin Tyre. It's so good, I wish winter would last a bit longer.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Passat

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-16-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 8,000 Average miles

Audi A4 2.0 TDi 170 S Line

Very good Tyre. Quiet, perfect on snow with superb traction, superb in wet...no aquaplaning at all. Not that good As Michelin Pilot Alpine tires (not for very sporty-hard driving. Still easy outperforms any Blizzak, Good Year, Dunlop tires.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Average miles

Ford Focus MK3

When new the traction in the snow was phenomenal, almost felt like I had a 4x4. Obviously as the tyres wore down the edge was lost but I really recommend these as a great winter tyre. Lived for a winter in Norway so I do understand what it's like to drive on ice and snow.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 2,000 Average miles

BMW 535d M Sport

So much grip and feel in snow, wet roads and dry roads. No vibrations. Perfect winter tyre and well worth the money.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-17-W
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Skoda Yeti

Cool tyres for my 1.2 skoda yeti. So far I'm using them 1 year mainly country roads, some highway. They are certainly not made for summer above 30C, but below that point I have nothing to complain. In winter they have better grip compare to Conti. Not very progressive, quite soft to drive even below -10C

Tyre size reviewed: 215-65-16-V
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Toyota Auris

Nice tyres-just like the A4´s..just quieter and better in the wet. So far a mild,wet winter in DK,but the snow can just come...:-)

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Audi A4 1.9 TDI

Very good tyre, never let me down, awesome on rain, good handling, very soft under -0.

Compared with Continental TS830 almost equal tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 100 Average miles

Volvo V40 1.5 T3 Geartronic

except the price and handling these are good tyres.Also wheel is absurdly get heavy in little turns.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-H

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.