Michelin Latitude Sport 3

The Michelin Latitude Sport 3 is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Michelin Latitude Sport 3
84%[average]
Dry Grip
88%
Wet Grip
86%
Road Feedback
85%
Progressiveness
85%
Wear
81%
Comfort
77%
Buy Again
85%

Michelin Latitude Sport 3 Reviews

97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 5,000 Easy Going miles

BMW BMW X1

It's good

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

BMW X5 4.4i

Legendary grip on dry, i have yet to discover its grip limits on wet on a heavy X5. The tyre can put any horsepower on the ground and breaking is beyond belief. The feedback from the tyres is firm and at no occasion handling is gone. The tyre warns you in advance and under normal sport driving conditions will always behave nicely.
Wear rate could have been better I guess but having done 20k in town/motorway the tyre is still very good and predictable. Just a bit less effective on wet. On dry roads, it will have to wear off to the alloy wheel to loose grip.
Comfort level is OK on the basis that there is no noticeable noise.
Have always fitted Michelin's and I would only fit Michelin's again. I am sure that other tyres maybe equally good (probably GoodYear Eagle F1 Assymetric) but I would highly recommend this tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 285-45-19-W
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

Audi Q7

The Michelins have so far lasted 20,000 miles of driving and have about three mm left on them . A combination of motorway and city driving. I am very impressed by the tyres. I have looked for reviews to suggest good alternatives but looks like I will end up buying the same again. Most owners of the Q7 seem to be happy with 15,000 miles out of a set.

Tyre size reviewed: 295-35-21-W
88%
Breakdown Score
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 1,000 Average miles

Mazda cx5

Picked it up for my Mazda CX-5. Compared to stock Toyo proxes R36, handling is quicker and more responsive. It feels like the car is lighter and can change lanes swiftly, very fun to drive. Feedback is just right to make me feel confident, while staying relaxed. Noise level seems comparable to the old tyre, not much quieter in my opinion.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-19-V
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 500 Average miles

Lexus RX350

i bought four tires two weeks ago over all the lattitude michelin sport 3 are very good in all conditions .

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 35,000 Easy Going miles

Volvo XC90 2.9 T6

Having a second set.
The first set still lot of treadwear left after 3 years , 50000km but some peeling appeared at the edge. Riding is reasonable, an annoying high pitch sound persisted throughout the life span.
It yielded 8.9/100km on my 2016 XC90, which was incredible.
The second set is AC tire with a block of foam inside and along the rim.
The moment it got on my SUV, I thought I was driving a totally different car.
The high pitch noise totally disappeared. The riding comfort improved tremendously.
The only drawback is that mileage dropped to 9.4L/100km.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-45-20-W
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 20,000 Spirited miles

Subaru Forester 2.0 XT

I’m driving a 2016 Subaru Forester 2 litre turbo and from South East Asia with plenty of rainfall all year round.

Previously on the same car I have used CSC5 (2 sets of around 16k and 22k mileage), Toyo Open Country UT (Used 4,000km and changed.. crap grip Tyres), AD08R (track use and driven on normal roads for around 2000km.

Currently I’ve used this current set of Latitude Sports3 Tyres for past 33,000km and the treadwear looks like it can last till 50,000km easily.

The tyre pressure pumped from day 1 is around 260kpa front and 250kpa rear. Guess that’s why my set of LS3 could last longer than most people who reviewed here. As LS3 Tyres are Porsche Cayenne OE Tyres, I read that the tyre pressure is up to 290kpa for the 19-20”.

However now I have reduced to 250F/240R since Tyres are relatives used for quite some mileage and I want them for more comfort.

The tyres are not noisy at around 70DB from day 1 and it’s still quiet until it’s more than 22,000km and even at 33k, the tyre noise is still bearable. The CSC5 gets noisy after 8000km, while the AD08R have unbearable road noise.

The dry grip is very good and have never skidded in all manners of driving, very similar to CSC5 dry grip but loses out to AD08R dry grip.

As for wet, it is also very good, and also never skidded before or lose grip when when driving. Just did an E brake at 100kmh 2 nights ago when it’s raining and the car managed to stop with a little light screech, very good wet grip. However CSC5 gave me more confidence driving fast in really wet weather, I’m really not sure why is that so.

Comparing with CSC5, the LS3 offer much better Road feedback while Handling is pretty similar.

LS3 it is a very very good overall performance Tyres. Highly recommended.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-18-V
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

BMW X5 e70

I replaced my BMW X5 run-flats with these non run-flat Michellins, WOW! what a difference, i also recently had BMW mudflaps fitted to the car to reduce stone damage etc...these made the road noise from the old bridgestones almost unbearable, the droning was awful! I nearly took the mudflaps off again. When i fitted these Michelin tyres it was a total transformation...no road noise, the car became much smoother on the road and far less brittle to drive. I guess that's what happens with run flat tyres where the sidewalls are nearly rigid...they transmit every jar, bump etc. Also the car is much better on cambers and doesn't tram-line anymore. my friend thought I'd actually changed the car when he rode in it.
Only down side, they are slightly, and i mean slightly softer on cornering, but once the corner is set they bite well! Superb in the wet too...hit a massive puddle at 65moh and the car didnt flinch.
Very pleased with them, my Beemer feels like a Rolls Royce now.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 25,000 Average miles

Nissan Murano

235/65/R18 on Nissan Murano 3.5 Auto.

Done 25k miles on these and they have been very good. Front down to about 3.5mm and rears at 4.5mm. Could probably get a bit more out of them if we swapped them around and might do that for summer but I will replace before winter.

At £525 fitted at Costco in July 2016 they have been a good buy but this tyre has now been replaced with the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV so I will look at them though I could buy the Latitude 3 again.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-65-18-H
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 7,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen TOUAREG V6 TDI

I'm not too sure what to expect tyre wear wise regarding my VW Tourag 2008 3.0 V6 TDI I have only had it 7 months. Had these tires fitted 6 months ago and had a full tracking and alignment check and adjustment..
We have just covered 8,000 miles on them and the rears are approaching 3mm rapidly, fronts are 5mm.
Tyre wear is even across the axles. No inner or outer wear.
That said the performance of these tires in the dry and wet is just amazing. Its just the £700 a set for I reckon 9500-10,000 miles is worrying. But may be this is the norm.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-45-19-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.