Continental WinterContact TS 850 P

The Continental WinterContact TS 850 P is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental WinterContact TS 850 P
80%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
89%
Road Feedback
89%
Progressiveness
88%
Wear
86%
Comfort
83%
Buy Again
82%

Continental WinterContact TS 850 P Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Nissan Qashqai

I have it for 3 winters on nissan qashqai. It is excellent winter tire!!!

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Nissan Qashqai

Je l'ai depuis 3 hivers sur Nissan qashqai. C'est un excellent pneu d'hiver !!!

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Nissan Qashqai

Ich habe es für 3 Winter auf Nissan Qashqai. Es ist ein ausgezeichneter Winterreifen !!!

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10 Average miles

Renault grand espace 2.0 dci 175

Bought these tyres with the alu-rims, used, from some guy for 100 euros a piece. What a great deal this was!!! Excellent tyres, drove them for about 10.000 miles now, and they still look and behave like new.
Especially pleased with low noise and easy rolling. Great tyres. Ok, new ones are probably very expensive.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-17-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 300 Average miles

BMW 525xd

What can I say. This must be the perfect tyre for the xdrive system.
10/10 dry and wet grip. Breaking on mixed surface also good !
Cannot talk about wear for now. We'll see later.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-17-
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Honda Civic Type R

Fantastic tyre on snow and ice, much better than it's predecessor Conti 830P. I have never expected tyre of this type (quite low profile, high speed index) to be so good in such conditions. On wet they are also very good. Good progressiveness and road feedback is also important for a performance tyre in performance car like mine - gives lots of fun and is assuring. As my car puts all of it power on front wheels I generally need a tyre with lots of grip on dry - in this case previous 830P were simply better. Whey were more "asphalt" than "snow/mud" tyre than the 850P. Wear is fine, comfort is more than fine at this size, although they are a bit loud.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Peugeot 208 XY 1.6 HDI

I fitted these to my 208 XY a couple of years back (now sold due to needing a larger car), they had a lovely trip out to the Highlands of Scotland in late December to early January so were put to the test on snow/ice and wet roads.
There were 3 cars, 2 were 4x4 and my fwd, it performed amicably in comparison to the 4x4's, grip was fantastic on bad surfaces with snow and ice patches, even hit an ice patch on a corner and only needed a slight correction of the steering to regain composure.

In snow they also performed excellently, standing water on motorways is not a problem, absolutely no aquaplaning.

The down side to winter tyres is the tread blocks, it takes some of the feedback off you and can make the car feel a little less responsive in corners, but the benefits of a winter tyre seriously out weigh that of a summer tyre in winter.

These will perform better below 10 degrees Centigrade, after that you will have longer braking distances due to the heat in the tyres and a little more squirming under hard braking.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf GTI

Excellent winter tire. Much better than the ts 830 which was a disppointment. Incredible control on snow. A bit less efficient on slush. Very good grip, traction and braking distance. Not to noisy. Wear and tear not yet evalued since drove only 5000 km.
Personaly I find it superior to the new Michelin Pilot Alpin P4. But the only major difference is the performance of the ts859 vs.pa4 on snowy roads.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 500 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Mk7 Golf R

Brought a set of alloys wheels + TS850P (225/40 R18)s for winter use. Swapped out ContiSportContact 5Ps (230/35 R19)s which are great but stop working at temperatures lower than 10degC.

These are really confidence inspiring on the ungritted roads that I have to transit every morning and evening. Great grip, steering feel and comfort. Can't comment on snow traction yet.

On previous Jag XF I ran Nokian WR A4 which were good in snow but only okay in other conditions. Can't do a direct comparison as new car is AWD but TS850Ps feel far superior in the wet and cold that is more common in
UK than full on snow.

Would probably have gone for TS860Ss had they been available but these TS850Ps I'm sure are nearly as good. Only downside is that they are a bit pricey so shop around. If you can go for a wheel + tyre package for best value and minimizing chance of denting your posh summer wheels. I keep my cars typically for 7+years so I'll get the usage out of them in that time.

Bring on the snow !

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 25,000 Spirited miles

Opel Astra H OPC

We bought these winter tyres for Astra OPC (VXR) petrol 2.0. It is not the sportiest car but still fast enough to require (even in winter) something tolerating the speed in excess of 200km/h (well, occasionally). Our car was originally equipped with Michelin Super Sports. Compared to them, the ContinentalWinter 850P is very comfortable. The first thing to notice was its noise level almost equal (or even lower) to the summer Super Sports. Well, winter Continentals are not very quick when pushed hard on the dry and not as precise when braking. Still, Conti does the job on the dry and sunny road. I like them on the wet and they are reasonably good on the snow. They cannot cope with too much snow, in which case I have snow chains (had to use them once in the Alps when going uphill to a remote skiing station).

Ice... In fact Conti 850 Ps are not for the ice at all. I was a keen user of studded Nokian Hakkapeliittas on my previous car. The Hakkapeliitaas used to give me real winter confidence. Now, the Conties give me speed on the dry winter road. And comfort. Lots of it.

When I changed back for my Michelin Super Sports this spring I really hated them first. Compared to Conti 850 Ps, super Sports were so rigid and unforgiving on the cobblestone surface so much loved in my city.

Well later, Super Sports proved themselves again on a highway. They are created for speed and stability.

Verdict? Well, Continental Winter Contact 850 P is not what I call a winter tyre. But if you drive a kind of sporty car, do not have much choice, then go for them. They are nice, comfortable winter tyres which allow you to drive closer to 200km/H at some reckless occasions.

Wear? Yes, they are Conties. They wear fast. After two winter seasons, I am not sure they are likely to last through another one.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-18-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.