Bridgestone Potenza RE040

The Bridgestone Potenza RE040 is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Bridgestone Potenza RE040
66%[average]
Dry Grip
80%
Wet Grip
58%
Road Feedback
74%
Progressiveness
70%
Wear
65%
Comfort
57%
Buy Again
54%

Bridgestone Potenza RE040 Reviews

90%
Breakdown Score
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40,000 Average miles

Porsche BOXSTER 2.7

Not long replaced my avon zz3 with these N4 tyres, must say there is a overall improvement over the avons, however the tread pattern doesnt look so good. Overall i am very impressed with these tyres, and only cost slightly more than the avons. Cannot comment on wear, but car drives very well @ >100mph

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-17-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 44,000 Average miles

Subaru Legacy

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,500 Average miles

Nissan 350z

These are the OEM tyres on the 350z and overall aren't that bad. They've lasted ages, slide beautifully and gracefully and give you loads of feedback.

Wet weather performance leaves a lot to be desired but they're still very progressive

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 32,000 Average miles

Audi 3,0 tdi quattro sport

Over 32000 miles on my Audi A8 3.0TDI Quattro over mixed roads

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-19-R
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Nissan 350z

I like these tyres on this car, a lot of people don't, but i find the dry grip very good and i dont find the wet grip as bad as a lot of people say. I think part of the problem is people relay heavily on TC. I generaly drive with this off and have learnt over time what the limits are. I still need to put in more time to be fully confident at just how quick you can go around corners on these tyres. I find i can drive ther car faster and smoother in the wet with the TC OFF. it is a none issue that the TC on the 350z kicks in early. I tried Toyo T1R's as a lot of people recommend and did not find them better, i did not like the handling in corners, the car rolls on the sidewalls. with the Bridgestones you just get solid grip or a predictable slow breakaway into a controllable slide. The downside is the road noise and the hardness over bumps, but it is a sports car so, this does not bother me too much. Would not hesitate to buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-W
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Nissan 350z

For road driving these tyres are great. Let's face it, the Nissan engineers seected them when building the 350z, so they are clearly good for the car. Anyone looking to take them on track with their z will enjoy the dry grip they give but may struggle to feel confident in the wet. I am not a fan of wet track driving on these tyres. Even with the TC turned off as some enthusiasts prefer.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40,000 Average miles

Audi A3

My tyres were still road legal at 40,000 miles. This is when the car was serviced and the dealer measured the tread depth.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 45,000 Average miles

Honda Civic

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-16-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,000 Spirited miles

Honda Civic Type R

Second type R bought ten tyres so far, set of 4 ?365 fitted. Excellent grip dry & good wet, get about 8000m fronts 18000m rears could be better. For price/grip would recommend.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-W
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Nissan 350z

These things last for ages. They are a hard compound tyre ideally suited to warm dry conditions. They are excellent on track when they've warmed up.

Bit scary in the winter/below 10 deg. C and in the wet.

Quite noisey compared to other tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.