Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S

The Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S
83%[average]
Dry Grip
86%
Wet Grip
86%
Road Feedback
79%
Progressiveness
84%
Wear
68%
Comfort
86%
Buy Again
81%

Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S Reviews

93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 18,000 Average miles

Land Rover Range Rover Evoque

Astonishing snow and ice grip in a 4x4 Evoque. Up Honister Pass with side to side sheet ice without a slip or a skid. Hardly anything for the snow and ice programme to do.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Subaru 04 WRX

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-16-
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Audi SQ5

Reference car: Audi SQ5 2014

I bought our SQ5 second hand and these tyres came with it;

I see positive and negative reviews but people need to realise that this tyre is released in 2014
And at the time these tyres were extremely recommended for Hig Performance Cars such as Porsche 911 , Aston Martin etc.

Of my personal experience with these tyres (living in Switzerland in the Ski area) these handle our SQ5 extremely good. Never slippery or whobby. In the wet they stay safe, dry also. On my size: 255/45/20 they do good.

They are very quite and also comfort is not to bad.
I would only buy these if you are driving an HP car.

Next winter (2019) when these are done i try the new versions of the Extreme S the Wintrac Pro. :)
They are absolutely the go for high performance cars.

Just like i said these tyres are from 2014... and only if you can buy these cheap i would buy them otherwise go dor the Vredestein Wintrac Pro :))

Tyre size reviewed: 255-45-20-V
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Chevrolet camaro

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 275-40-20-
78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 200 Average miles

Audi Q7

Reference Audi Q7.
Early days as yet. Just fitted within last two months, as older one of Michelins developed a bulge on sidewall. I don't drive sedately or too fast, but like to push when needed. Initial impressions are good overall. Compared to the summer Michelins they feel similar in the dry being driven normally. Time will tell when pushed. The Michelins let me down in the wet on a field, as not suited to off road even on very soft and wet grass. Wheels were sinking in to around 5/6 inches trying to pull a 2 tonne caravan! So I expect more grip under those conditions with the Vredsteins. So far in torential rain at speed the Vredsteins gave a confident feel. They seem quiet on the road so far but the Michelins were the same until the treads were worn down by half, then became very noisy.
I took a chance with the Vredsteins as they are really winter tyres, but I don't cover a high mileage in this car, so wear should not be the limiting factor. They will possibly be due replacement due to age before the treads are worn too much (hopefully).

Tyre size reviewed: 295-35-21-W
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

BMW E90 325i

A good all round winter tyre. Not as good as my Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta in the dry or wet when it's warmer, but the Wintrac extreme S comes into its own when it get near freezing!!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 300 Average miles

Mitsubishi Outlander

Initial impressions were good, unfortunately one of the tyres was defective, and made the car unsafe to use. A big chunk or rubber came off it. I have sent it back to the company I bought them from, and now waiting for decision. Unacceptable for this to happen on a brand new tyre, from a reputable company. That is why I didn't buy Chinese tyres..but maybe that was a mistake.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-70-16-H
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Chevrolet camaro

I drive my car in 30cm snow and icy/wet conditions. All what I can say it is a perfect tyre. My car is a 400HP RWD but still it drives like in summer.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-40-20-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.