Nankang NS2R

The Nankang NS2R is a Summer Extreme Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Nankang NS2R
77%[average]
Dry Grip
92%
Wet Grip
69%
Road Feedback
85%
Progressiveness
87%
Wear
73%
Comfort
55%
Buy Again
79%

Nankang NS2R Reviews

98%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 168 Spirited miles

Honda Civic Type R

Set my car up specific for my yearly trip to nurburgring, i decided to go for the 120 compound and i was very surprised with the grip level and feedback, i shall be purchasing more of the ns2r 120 compound for next years trip.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution VIII 5SPD

Super grip, Dry or Wet. I had this tire on my Evo8(700hp) and BMW M4.
Both cars are for daily and track. About 10,000 miles or more.
In short, NS-2R treadwear 120 is almost identical to AD-08. This is not what I feel, data says so. Lateral G; AD-08 1.3G, NS-2R 1.3G. Braking G; AD-08 0.8G, NS-2R 0.8G. Best Lap time also was very identical within 0.1s. Which means its drivebility is about the same too.
This is insane performance when you think of the price tag.
Mileage is also crazy. Almost not understandable. I don't understand why NS-2R goes more than 30~50% more than AD-08. Why doesn't the other tire companies make like Nankang does?
For the money, I'd give the best rating except comfort. But Hey, No sport tires are comfortable.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-35-18-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

BMW 335i

These tyres are very very impressive in the dry and I get no wheel spin whatsoever in my 500bhp 335i. I had previously used Goodyear eagle F1 but in the dry the NS2R are in another league. I managed to knock off 0.6 seconds off my 1/4 mile time which is loads in drag racing. They are also very safe and stable at high speed. Another big plus is the wear. I have the 120 soft compound but they have hardly worn at all with over 6000 miles, loads of burnouts and over 50 quarter mile passes. This price is also a bargain at £105 each when I bought them. The only downside is in the wet grip they are not great but so long as you are not driving wide open throttle everywhere then they are perfectly fine. Also I noticed no difference in road noise compared to my Goodyear eagle F1 so that was a nice surprise as I was expecting them to be much worse. I would definitely recommend these!

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-18-W
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 100 Spirited miles

Mazda mx 5

I Just mounted, tested the tyres on the road for around 150km, they fit perfectly on the car. They have much more grip, handling and responsiveness than in any other road tyre of any premium brand, except that you must warm them before trying to go fast.
These are semislick tyres for the road (180, hard wear), for the track there is probably something better (if you pay twice or more). You must be careful on the wet (but i tested when cold and new, 7°C and after torrential rain). Excellent braking in any condition, just slippery on very wet hairpin bend.
The perfect choice for an old mx5 NA with neither power steering or braking assistance. Better 185 60 r14 than 195 50 r15 on country winding road. Miata at its very best!
After few km on the roads, i have no idea of wearing, at present. It seems regular.
Despite they are reinforced tyres, they feel relatively comfortable (also on gravel, but my tyres have high profile!) and not noisy .
Very high value per money.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-14-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Daihatsu Perodua Myvi

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Renault Clio 182

Had these on my daily Clio 182 since April now, they have been utterly fantastic. Mine are the 180 tread wear rating.

The dry grip is superb, but not too much as to stop you having fun. Can still make the car very playful when you want it to be ;). I have given them plenty of abuse as I like to drive my car hard when the roads allow and they have never let me down, they can probably grip much more than my driving ability allows.

Had zero issues using them in wet weather, used them on a run up to Scotland in torrential rain and again, no issues whatsoever, in a lot of standing water they aqua plained a small amount but so did the Michelins and Pirellis so they are perfectly fine to use in wet conditions.

The rears still look like new after around 8000 miles and the fronts have another month or so left in them. The tread has worn evenly across the tyre, I am running -1.5 camber on the front. Tyre pressures up front I run them around 29 which allows them to warm up nicely.

I will have no doubts about purchasing these again when they are ruined on the front, this time I may buy the 120 tread wear rated ones and put them on the rear and put my current rear 180s on the front.

Overall, excellent tyres and I much prefer using these over the normal high performance road going tyres, especially for the price.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-W
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Honda Accord iVtec Type S saloon

Went from Yokohama Advan V105 to Federal 595 RSR to Nankang NS2R 180tw/medium compound. On my 280HP Accord with race suspension setup after 8K miles I still can see another 5K !
On dry there are real race tyre like a Federal RSR which might have an edge in high speed race applications but you must be mad to use both of them on public roads in full potential.
On wet miles ahead of Federal RSR which I found rather dangerous then fun on wet roads.
Yokohama was the safest tyre on wet, lasted for 21K miles and offer surprising grip in corners. On dry public roads was 90% performance of semi-slicks, 140% of performance on wet, and 200% of performance in cold around 0'C conditions and much quieter and civilised ride. Very nicely balance tyre but for ultimate grip and feedback you can't beat semi-slicks.
These Nankang NS2R are the only semi-slicks I know, please correct me, that last long enough, is not utterly useless on wet and does not brake the bank. Its even 30Euro cheaper a corner then Yokohama and that's enough to me to buy the Nankang again but for the same price and daily driven car reason would tell me Yokohs but the rest of the body will disagree. Try them!

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 2,000 Spirited miles

BMW E36 M3 Evo Coupe

i have fitted square set-up on my e36 m3 3.2 track car, specifically built for nurburgring. i ran (on recommendation to me from race drivers of same car), 4x 235/40/17, square setup - and was advised best to use the 180 street compound, rather than the 120 track. this apprently is the better tyre as grip is equal to the 120, but they handle the heat better.

the tyres, for the money, were fantastic. this was the first time i have used the car on track, since its been stripped etc, so i dont have much to compare to... but generally.... the grip was very good, maybe not quite as good as a r888, but certainly in line with federal 595-rs if not slightly better, but im comparing that to on another car so its not a fair comparison.

the tyres look great, and are quite wide tread pattern. they have a small rim protector too. they gripped well both in dry and wet. the broke away safely and progressivly, and didnt get overheated etc. i did around 40 fast laps of the ring (8.12 BTG is my best time on these tyres). i ran them quite hard pressures, again on recommedation. 32 cold, aiming for 40 hot. this seems high, but works.

best of all was the tyre wear. i did 1000 miles to the track and back on motorway, and 40x laps at a good pace... and they are hardly worn at all. infact they still look virtually new. i would expect less than 1mm had been worn away, and they come with 7mm from new i think anyway.

overall a very good tyre for the money, and certainly worth trying. they are half the cost of r888 and i think they are likely 90-95% as grippy... but thats just my expectation. would be interesting to compare them to other tyres in the future, but for the budget minded trackday, they are great




Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-17-W
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 1,000 Spirited miles

Audi S4

Brilliant dry tyre that handles the wet reasonably well. They are not a comfort tyre and so are stiff and noisy. Using these tyres for the track has been ideal and I also find I can live with them on public roads too.

These tyres are available in different compounds. I've found the softest (tread wear 120) to be excellent.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-18-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Arosa

they stick so well the 180 compound ok in the wet but can let go quick. but the softer 120 compound is unbeleivable in the wet and dry .go kart handling at a reasonable price

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.