Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3

The Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3
85%[average]
Dry Grip
90%
Wet Grip
94%
Road Feedback
89%
Progressiveness
88%
Wear
80%
Comfort
80%
Buy Again
89%

Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 30,000 Average miles

Ford S Max

519/5000
It's the second train I use on my Ford S-Max 2.0 TD. Very heavy car with great engine torque.
With the first set I made 54,000 km and I changed them because the winter part of the tread was defined, about 4 mm, and we were in January.
With the second I have already done 30,000 km and are still in excellent shape.
Excellent tire in all aspects. Only the noise is a little more accentuated than the summer tires.
Next week I change cars and I have already ordered the same tires in 245/45 18.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz E320

Bought 4x Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3_XL(ExtraLoad)_215/55 R16 97H (Made in Germany) for approx €87 per tyre (in winter time).
I have driven this tyre on winter conditions for around 1000 km on the winding road to the ski resort, and I have to say I’m very impressed with them.
Softer compound, aquaplaning is well suppressed. Driving on snow have a fantastic traction. On frost-covered and slush road surfaces Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 grip very well.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-16-H
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Peugeot 407 SW 2.2 HDi 170

Nothing to say - Excelent tyre. Combiend with ESP/ASR will NEVER loose grip.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Peugeot 208 1.6 vti

Bought these for my late 2015 208 GTI, and they are absolutely amazing, they are good in the dry and not too bad in the wet, in the snow they are utterly amazing in fact the 208 in the last 2 bouts of heavy snow the south of England had this Feb (2019) and last year in March (2018) the car was just unstoppable...it drove and stopped like it was just on a wet road... it had more grip than my 4x4 Grand Cherokee with proper Cooper AT3 chunky tyres! I would absolutely recommend them and will be buying a set for our F11 BMW 528i for winter.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-V
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

BMW E61 530d Touring

I've been running these tyres for a (snowless) year - so whilst I can't comment on their snow performance, I've got a good feel for them year round.

In warm dry temps the grip is as good as premium branded summers I've driven on other cars, they feel progressive when pushing on, and I'm quite confident pushing them. Don't get me wrong - for a similarly priced summer I'm sure the performance would be greater, but if you're running them through summer the performance is solid. To summarise they feel like 'good,' summers rather than 'premium' winters when driving around in 25C+. Driving normally you don't notice that you're driving on winters. But I wouldn't run them year round unless you can avoid it - see below.

In warm/wet conditions they again do well and resist aquaplaning brilliantly - something the last summer has provided ample opportunity to confirm that.

In colder conditions they do what any good winter tyre should - become very grippy. You can feel the traction increase as they temperatures drop and they they start to feel like a 'premium' tyre. From 2C and below the change is very noticeable.

Noise and comfort are good and I haven't noticed any noise as another reviewer mentioned.

But if you're planning on running them year round - don't. Whilst grip and performance are more than adequate for summer use, wear has been pretty bad - I've got through a set of rears (down to about 3mm, so below the limit to be useful in snow) in less than a year/10,000 miles. They haven't always been driven conservatively, but that was a surprise.

But I've got a lot of confidence in the Sottozero 3's, so I've ordered a new pair for the rear and will be switching to dedicated summers when the temp increases. Great tyre and hopefully I'll be able to update this with snow performance in a few months.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-16-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15 Average miles

BMW 320 d

Very good ones. I love them... I agree on what the first friend said!!
Very good job!!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 3,000 Average miles

Jaguar XFR

Because of the issues I had with my previous winter. tyres I did some research on wet weather running as that is the condition that is most prevalent in winter, and settled on these tyres, and they do not disappoint.

This is the first winter where I have had to battle heavy rain and heavy snow with these tyres, last year was a mild winter. This year there has been a lot of snow and I just completed a trip where I was able to safely travel at 50 - 60 MPH on 4" of snow up the motorway, for over 100 miles in snow and a further 100 in slush which is significantly better than the tyres they replaced.

We also just had torrential rain with plenty of standing water on the road and again the tyres coped without any hint of loosing traction.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-19-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Renault laguna coupe

Bought these last year without any test except the one on the manufacturers claims about the areas they outperformed the competition. I knew the predecessor and experienced new Michelin PIlotAlpin and so I decided to try this new set of PIrellis. I am please to say I made the correct choice. Car is driven pretty hard both on local and highway roads in all sorts of weather conditions. I am very please and especially surprised how they perform on dry road in terms of feedback, precision and grip. That is quite unusual for winter tyre with so many sipes for snow performance. They also grab through thick snow excellently. These are bar none the best max performance winter tyres I had and I always invested in top rubber in 20 years of my motoring so I am comparing this set to all other top level manufacturers.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 7
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 9,000 Spirited miles

Audi A4 1.8T Quattro

After reaching 4mm of thread left from my Nokians WRD4, I searched for a tire with better thread wear, even if the nokians are absolute awesome winter tyres. I eventually chose the Pirellis Winter Sottozero 3. After one winter with them, I can say that they feel like a very good summer tyre on dry roads with temperatures beneath 15 grades celsius, on wet they perform excellent, they are very silent and the steering is very precise, even though they give a pretty decent confort ride. However, on snow and ice, they are not as good as the Nokians were, but you can have a normal drive with a little more care. However, they are far better than many other brands. And, the most important aspect, after one winter and 11000kms made, they lost only 1mm of thread! (The nokians lost 3 in the first winter). I would definitely buy them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

BMW 530d F10

I'm running these tyres on a 2015 BMW 520d M Sport F10. The fronts are 245/45 18 and 275/40 18 on the rear. I have heard that you can run 245 on all 4 wheels, even as a staggered setting but I have not tried it myself.

The tyres are without doubt the best winter / all-round tyres I've ever had.

Many folk in the UK think that just because it's not snowing for the majority of the winter then you don't need winter tyres. They stick to summer tyres through the whole 12 months. Hence why the UK road networks grind to a halt as soon as we have 1cm of snow.

BMWs have never been great in the snow and ice but with these tyres I've not found anything that has been challenging. I have recently returned from Alpe D'Huez in the French Alps and there was 3ft of snow and ice on the roads.

If you push them the tyres will break traction but they won't under normal driving conditions. There's plenty of feedback from the road surface and you get a good idea where their limits are before you reach them.

They are outstanding in heavy rain and water too.

Five stars out of five from me!!

Tyre size reviewed: 275-40-18-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.