Kumho Ecsta KU31

The Kumho Ecsta KU31 is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Kumho Ecsta KU31
77%[average]
Dry Grip
83%
Wet Grip
76%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
76%
Wear
72%
Comfort
75%
Buy Again
77%

Kumho Ecsta KU31 Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 700 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C180 Classic Sedan

Fantastic all-round summer tyre. Simple as that, the quality and durability to easily rival the 'best' tyres on the market.

Currently fitted on the front my '97 Mercedes C180, outstanding grip on wet roads, even better on dry roads.

Only done 1000kms' on them but already they are worthy of a review, there has been not too much wear considering they are of such a soft compound but suit a heavier car such as my Mercedes perfectly, smooth and quiet on the freeway and grippy and responsive on the quiet backroads where you can really test them out.

Certainly won't be buying Continental or Pirelli again, there is no need, these Kumhos' do a much better a job at half the price.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Spirited miles

Ford Fiesta Zetec S

Bought these tyres 2 and 1/2 years ago. I've now covered 7000 miles and done 2 track sessions on them and they still have 4.5-5.5mm front-rear.

Absolutely fantastic tyre with perfect wet/dry grip, progressiveness and feedback. I would 100% buy them again.

These would be HIGHLY recommended by myself.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-V
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 145,000 Spirited miles

Fiat Grande Punto 1.9 sporting

I just cannot fault this tyre. It is quiet on the motorway. Progressive handling. Excellent in dry and wet conditions in Wales and England. Useless in snow and ice though, but then again this is a summer tyre. It has a treadwear of 320, which means 25-28k miles after tyre rotation at 14k miles (Fiat Grande Punto 1.9JTD Sporting, remapped at 172bhp and 329 lb/ft). Superbly priced too. As good as a Pirelli P Zero Nero, at half the price and twice the durability. Other than Pirelli, I have tried Falkens, Bridgestone Potenza, Kumho KU39. Nothing comes close to the KU31, very highly recommended indeed.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-V
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 70,000 Average miles

Audi A4

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-35-19-W
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

MG ZT T (190)

Amazing tyres. They replaced Bridgestone RE040s on the front and it has transformed the handling of the car. The Bridgestones had a number of nasty habits including being noisy, tramlining and having terrible grip until they warmed up (which took a while).

The Kuhmos by comparison have shown just how bad the Bridgestone tyres were. Tyre noise is considerably better, no tramlining and cold grip is now much improved.

It would be unfair to say they are good for the price....these are good tyres for any price! Highly recommended.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 1,000 Average miles

Volkswagen jetta 2009 1.6 MPI

high value for money

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Toyota Corolla

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Mazda 5

the tyres hold the road extremely well in the dry and hold their own in the wet, the tyre wear is very good from this "budget" manufacturer.

by far the best tyres I have bought and half the price of the michellin primacy that i had on prior to this change.

would definitely buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf R 270 BHP

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
95%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Nissan Skyline R34

Yep I just came back from wet spirited driving on the very little backroads and have to write only praise about Kumho KU31. I m driving Skyline R34 and was trying hard to get tail happy but wasnt easy at all since grip is fenomenal! The faster you the better progress; in city driving I noticed some tramlining but nothing bad really. Motorway -also great road feedback and not noisy. I just had them for 2000km but I m convinced they are worth evey 90eur spent per wheel and will buy another set already for next year because availibility is not good at dealers.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-16-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.