Goodyear UltraGrip 8 Performance

The Goodyear UltraGrip 8 Performance is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear UltraGrip 8 Performance
83%[average]
Dry Grip
86%
Wet Grip
88%
Road Feedback
74%
Progressiveness
76%
Wear
88%
Comfort
87%
Buy Again
80%

Goodyear UltraGrip 8 Performance Reviews

91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Audi A5

Some car tire brands suit different cars and you can go from one brand to an other and it will transform your car. Had michelin pa3 tires as our winter tire on the car and have no complaints with these. However the goodyears have took the car to another level, the grip from these when setting off is amazing even in wet conditions. The car is planted and stable at all speeds and do give you total confidence in all weathers. Comfort level is just as good as michelins but noise level is much better. Brill tires and would recommend to anybody with 19 inch rims on the car in winter.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-V
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 35,000 Average miles

Peugeot 508 SALOON

For a winter tyre it's really low noise.
wet road performance is perfect especially aquplaning is unbelieveble.
but in snow (winter tyre!!) I think not good enough by the way it's weird that the tyres are very good on the ice.
I drove them for about 35000 km. and there's still 6 mm. wear on tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-16-H
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Volvo S80 T6

After previous Conti TS830P and Dunlop WS3D, I decided to try UG8 Performance - in particular because of excellent experience with Eagle F1 A2 as well as the positive reviews. While the dry grip is perfectly fine, these Goodyears are not as great as either TS830P or WS3D. The second slight disappointment came in case of the comfort, as these tyres are less comfy than the previous two. But the rest is excellent - the grip on snow is very good and the wet grip is excellent. While the road feedback is nothing to write home about, the progresiveness is top notch. What makes these tyres truly shining is road noise (extremely silent, no comparison with horribly noisy Dunlops) and wear. After (very fast driven) 10000 miles, the wear is minimal and I am sure they will last for another 10000+ miles. Overall, UG8 Performance are with TS830P the best and most universal winter tyres I know... and the best ones for high speed highways and wet conditions.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 1,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI

Really quiet, no aquaplanning; but not good on snow espacially driving to uphills.
On my old car; i was using 175/65/14 Sava Eskimo + ; those were much more better that Ug8 performance

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,500 Spirited miles

Toyota Celica VVTLi

Brilliant tyre - Especially in the wet, slush and up to 15cm of snow. This tyre really inspires confidence from the dry right through to the most treacherous of conditions. Road noise not too bad either.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI

Prior to fitting I drove my normal cross-country route (2 degrees C) and my front tyes felt slippery. After, in the dark I drove home on x4 brand new Mitchelin tyres - same route and experienced much oversteer so kept to low speed (max 50mph), but the grip was amazing! - It felt like 4 wheel drive. I did get overtaken on the straight by an EVO though, but he was motorring! Last couple of days I have kept to main roads in rain and sleet (checked my tyre pressures) and at 70mph have found amazing examples of grip especially when cornering (almost better than UHP tyres in the dry). Compared to summer tyres there is some extra noise at lower speeds, but who cares what matters is grip. My one concern is that my grip will continue to inspire confidence when the laws of physics give up and I will be in stueck! Advice: With your new found winter friends, drive appropriately, remember how you used to drive respectfully with regard to the poor conditions and then look forward to using your winter tyres over several seasons. I have only marked these down on wear/comfort/buy again because they are still new.
I did look at the other top o' the range brands but decided upon a limit £500 for all 4 tyres. The ContiWInter TS850 were only £5 more per tyre, and to be honest insterested me greatly, but in England we only normally suffer wet snow and slush, so I looked for wet/slush fighting ability (and low noise)as opposed to performance in snow. If I had any real advice, it is research well, order black circles or EU for home delivery and fitting and drive safely.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-16-H
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 500 Average miles

BMW 530D

Very good tires in wet, dry and deep snow. I have a RWD BMW 5 series and it feels like a train on snow now.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-H
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

Volkswagen CC

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.