Michelin Pilot Alpin 4

The Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Alpin 4
96%[average]
Dry Grip
93%
Wet Grip
98%
Road Feedback
95%
Progressiveness
96%
Wear
95%
Comfort
94%
Buy Again
99%

Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 800 Average miles

Audi a5 3.0 tdi quattro sport

Stuck a new set of winter tyres on the car at the start of November and a week later it snowed! Going to work in the snow Monday morning was great, other cars were all over the place sliding and skidding while I was sat in the car relaxed. I have other winter tyres in previous years on the car but these are the best by far. They have a slightly stiffer side wall but are comfortable and also have a big rim protector. They cut through snow and standing water like it wasn't there. Buy them in the summer while they are a bit cheaper. It was the look on peoples faces when your cars not stuck or sliding about that makes these tyres worth every penny. Buy them they are brilliant and will get some home safe and sound.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-V
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Audi A4 TDi Quattro Sport

This is the third winter these tyres are back on the car. Tread depth is still 6mm. Just as comfortable as the michelin ps4 taken off but when the roads get greasy and wet these will keep you safe. Last winter drove the car from leeds to Norwich and back in the worst snow and no drama or fuss, that's how good these tyres are. Superb and will buy another set when these are worn out.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Chrysler PT Cruiser

I bought these tyres some years back, based upon positive reviews on this site, for the Peugeot I drove back then. The car got sold and replaced by a Chrysler PT Cruiser which inherited these on his 15" alloy's.

They are going into their fourth winter season now and they are all 7 mm or better still. I keep them in the garage and will not put them on before winter really kicks in and I will take them off when temps stay above zero. They were not cheap, but as they are going into their 4th year they seem to last very long. Between the two cars I thing they've allready been driven for 15.000 km's.

What really amazes me is how these tyres are fantastic in every condition. On dry roads they stick like glueded, on wet roads they feel like other tyres on dry roads, on ice they slip very controlled - one can predict their behaviour - and on snow they really shine ! I don't have too much experience with winter tyres but I have no doubt in my mind these are amongst the best available !

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Peugeot 407 Coupe

exclusive wintertyre even driven on dry road you cant believe that you drive a wintertyre

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-18-
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 4,000 Spirited miles

Toyota RAV4

I got to tell you that I am amazed by this tyres performance. I bought immediately after car purchasing equipped with all season Dunlop Grandtrek ST30 which by the way, do not use it even somebody give its for free, but this will be another topic. PA4 is quite expensive,as it should be a high performence tyre but overall worth the money. I drove 4000km on icey roads, wet and what I've liked the most on -10 degree dry surface and I had no wear what so ever, no significal noise and great grip in 10cm of snow. Brake on wet and dry is also great . I will say this tyres are great for FWD and AWD and higly recommend for Central East European weather.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-18-H
98%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

BMW E46 M3

Snow performance out of this world, but retains stability and good wet and dry grip even at higher temperatures. Expensive but worth every penny.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-W
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Skoda Octavia vRS

Great in the snow and on wet, dry good. I like the most minimal difference in driving versus summer tires.
I recommend

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-V
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Ford Focus mk2

Drove them with modded 2010 Focus TDCI 2.0 with 180PS on ST spec suspension and tyre size. this winter season 14/16 for the first time.
Really impressed with them. The car is driven hard. In emergency stops or fast accelaretions the car is like sticked to the ground with glue. And this includes the cold, wet, dirty slippery winter roads situations. The grip never ends. They give you so much confidence. Also you can feel the limits and the level of grip in any sotuation and any time or weather conditions.
Also they are super quiet and comofrtable.
Used to drive Focus Mk1 with Michelin Alpin A4 for 5 years. They are also brilliant in every way. OF course the PA4 is high performance winter tyre and it shows it. I want to try the A5 for my mk1 winter 15/16.
Will buy again for sure!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-V
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

Lexus GS 250 Luxury

Just put these back on the car for their second season and whilst I can't comment on their ability to cope with snow yet, they are simply beautiful tyres. So assured and so comfortable I just know I shall be able to cope with any conditions thrown at them with absolute confidence.
Bought these to replace a set of Yokohama winter tyres which were the subject of a "Lexus" deal and there is no comparison - the Michelins win hands down.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-18-
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 20,000 Average miles

Peugeot 307

Great tires!!! - low wear, grip is phenomenal on dry, wet and snow. During 4 years driving on these tires I manage to make 30000 km so far, and the grip is still fine because there is still 5 mm of tread. Michelin proved to me that tire performance does not deteriorate over time. Although they are expressive, Michelin tires are great value for money.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.